The Board of Governors

As a Voluntary Aided (VA) school, the majority of the Board of Governors is appointed by the Foundation, the Church of England. Other Governors are appointed by the Local Authority and Staff and Parent elections.

If you would like to contact the Governors, please email the Clerk, Gaynor Newnham at or write to Clerk to Governors, St John's Meads Church of England Primary School, Rowsley Road, Eastbourne, East Sussex, BN20 7XS.

Linda Caroe – Chair of Governors

Foundation Governor


I was elected as Chair of Governors in July 2016 and have the privilege of leading the Board to ensure that we fulfil our statutory roles and responsibilities and promote high standards, working closely (more…)

David Ibbotson – Vice Chair

Foundation Governor

For all of my career I have been involved in education as a teacher and for many years as a deputy head. I was ordained in 2012 and after serving a curacy in parish returned to education as a school (more…)

Anne McWilliams

Local Authority Governor

I moved to Eastbourne with my husband a few years ago, as we both love living by the sea.  During my career I have worked as a bursar in both state and public schools, gaining extensive experience (more…)

Christine Swanborough-Nilson

Foundation Governor


I have had a long and varied career in education and learning but also have a strong commitment to building caring communities and supporting families. (more…)

David Hines

Foundation Governor


My experience as a Head Teacher and Chair of Governors in Primary and Secondary Schools in Cheshire, Bedfordshire and Sussex is I trust of value to our Board of Governors. (more…)

Rev Giles Carpenter – Ex-officio

Chair of Ethos Committee

giles_carpenterI spent 20 years in business before training for ordination at Trinity College Bristol. After a curacy in the Guildford diocese, where I was a community governor at his local school, I moved to Meads (more…)

Dan van Kleeff

Parent Governor

I grew up in Buckinghamshire and moved to Eastbourne in 2002. I am a property consultant and run a local small business. I am also a qualified domestic energy assessor. (more…)

Clem Jackson

Foundation Governor

As a new Foundation Governor I’m looking forward to bringing my skills, knowledge and experience to the Governing Board and to making a contribution to the life of St. John’s Meads School. (more…)

Robert Newlands

Staff Governor

It’s hard to believe that it is now my fifth year here at St John’s, it has gone incredibly quickly! I have thoroughly enjoyed my time here at St John’s as it is a fantastic place to work. All staff are motivated (more…)

Peter Boghurst

Foundation Governor

I have previous experience of school governance having served as both parent governor and Chair of Governors at a school in Bexhill. As a new Foundation governor, I intend to develop (more…)

Lydia Jourdain

Parent Governor

I have been a teacher of English at Eastbourne College for the past fourteen years and I am passionate about education, its importance in society and the significant effect it can have on lives. (more…)

Katherin Weeks


I grew up in North London and moved to Sussex with my family approximately 15 years ago. I have been a parent governor at a school in Bexhill-on-Sea and was a staff governor at my previous school.

I enjoy running, reading and crafting.

What is the role of the Board of Governors?

The Board of Governors is a part of the Leadership and Management of the school, supporting and challenging the Senior Leadership Team.

We are responsible for making the key strategic decisions and our role is to set the school’s strategic framework and to ensure all statutory duties are met.

We also ensure that the school has a clear vision for its future, and that a robust strategy in place for achieving that vision.

We are also responsible for monitoring data and finance, admissions, special educational needs, performance management and school policies e.g., health and safety.

This diagram gives an overview of our roles and responsibilities as governors:

Wheel of Governance

The school governors are a dedicated group of people with a range of skills and experience represented on the Board to ensure that we are fully equipped to serve the best interests of the children. Full Governing Board meetings are held regularly through the year and sub committees meet for Admissions and Ethos.

Governors’ Register of Pecuniary Interests 2018/2019

Name Category Term of Office (current) Position on GB/ Monitoring Area Attendance at FGB Meetings 2017/2018 Business Interest Links to other educational establishment Connection to the school
Linda Caroe Foundation Governor 27/10/2015-26/10/2019 Chair of Governors, Safeguarding Link Governor, Chair of Admissions Committee, member of the Pay, Ethos and the Finance & Resources Committees. Member of the Headteacher’s Appraisal Panel, the Data & Curriculum Monitoring Group and the Strategic Planning Group. 8/8
Rev. Giles Carpenter Foundation Governor Ex Officio Chair of the Ethos Committee. 7/8 Vicar of St John’s Church
David Hines Foundation Governor 24/02/2016-23/02/2020 SEND Link Governor and member of the Finance & Resources Committee and Curriculum & Data Monitoring Group. 8/8
Christine Swanborough- Nilson Foundation Governor 18/09/2016-17/09/2020 Early Years Link Governor, PSHE Link Governor, member of the Data & Curriculum Monitoring Group and Ethos Committee. 6/8
David Ibbotson Foundation Governor 15/12/2016-14/12/2020 Vice Chair of Governors, member of the Ethos Committee, the Headteacher’s Appraisal Panel, the Strategic Planning Group and Training Link Governor. 7/8 Employed at Eastbourne College
Clem Jackson Foundation Governor 05/10/2017-04/10/2021 English Link Governor and member of the Ethos and Admissions Committees, the Curriculum & Data Monitoring Group, and the Headteacher's Appraisal Panel. 4/7
Peter Boghurst Foundation Governor 16/10/2017-15/10/2021 Maths Link Governor and member of the Finance & Resources and Pay Committees and the Curriculum & Data Monitoring Group. 7/7 Company Director of Portia Rented Homes Ltd.
Anne McWillimas Local Authority Governor 22/10/2016-21/10/2020 Chair of the Finance & Resources Committee and the Pay Committee, member of the Admissions Committee, the Data & Curriculum Monitoring Group and the Strategic Planning Group. 8/8 Local Board Member of King Offa School and Glenleigh Park
Robert Newlands Staff Governor 06/10/2017-05/10/2019   6/7 Employed at St John’s Meads School
Katherin Weeks Headteacher Staff Governor 01/09/2018
Ex Officio
  N/A Employed at St John’s Meads School
Dan van Kleeff Parent Governor 13/07/2017-12/07/2019 Health & Safety Link Governor and member of the Finance & Resources Committee. 6/8 Three children attend the school
Lydia Jourdain Parent Governor 02/03/2018-01/03/2020 English Link Governor and Friends of St John’s Meads Link Governor. 4/4   Employed at Eastbourne College One child attends the school
Former Governors in post during 2017-2018
Debra Turner Headteacher Staff Governor 01/09/2017-31/08/2018   6/8      
Sally McGinty Staff Governor 18/09/2016- 25/09/2018   1/1      
Sarah Caffyn Parent Governor 22/09/2015- 20/10/2018   1/1      

FGB Meetings 2018-2019

Business Meeting Thursday 6th September
Term 1 Thursday 4th October
Term 2 Thursday 29th November
Term 3 Thursday 24th January
Term 4 Thursday 21st March
Term 5 Thursday 25th April
Term 6 Thursday 18th July