The Local Governing Body

The Diocese of Chichester Academy Trust supports the governance model that includes Local Governing Bodies.

The Local Governing Body members are appointed by the Board of Trustees for a term of four years and is made up of parents, staff and foundation representatives.

If you would like to contact the Governors, please email the Clerk, Gaynor Newnham at or write to Clerk to Governors, St John's Meads Church of England Primary School, Rowsley Road, Eastbourne, East Sussex, BN20 7XS.

FGB Meetings 2020-2021

Term 1 Thursday 8th October
Term 2 Thursday 10th December
Term 3 Thursday 4th February
Term 4 Thursday 25th March
Term 5 Thursday 20th May
Term 6 Thursday 15th July

Clem Jackson

Co-chair of Governors

Having joined the Governing Board in 2017 I can honestly say that the last two years has been a tremendous learning curve for a first-time governor. I have learned so much, especially some of the many 3-letter acronyms which litter the lexicon of education. (more…)

Karen Fletcher-Wright

Co-chair of Governors

My working life was in Education and Children’s Services. In a 40 year career I have been a mainstream school teacher, head of a special school, an SEN Manager and rose to Assistant Director (more…)

Revd. Ben Sleep – Curate

Ex Officio

Ben spent most of his working life as an actor and writer before training for the ministry in 2013. He studied at Ridley, Cambridge before moving to Eastbourne for his curacy in 2018 with his wife (more…)

Peter Stone

Foundation Governor

I have been in education all my working life. My wife and I moved to Eastbourne in May and having joined St John’s church, gravitating to the school seemed a natural step. (more…)

Susanne Beesley

Parent Governor

I have spent the majority of my working life involved in different roles and capacities as part of the team around the child to Looked After Children. I am social work trained and my roles have crossed over into the Private and Voluntary Sector, as well as the Local Authority. (more…)

Daniel Huff

Business and Community Governor

I have spent most of my life in Business and over the last 10 years have been actively involved in providing Alternative Energy solutions that make for a more sustainable planet. I also have a keen interest in the local Community and hope to bring the positive (more…)

Joan Wilson

Business and Community Governor

I am a retired Deputy Headteacher. I have a long association with St John’s Meads starting when my children started at the school in 1986. During the ‘90s I organised residential trips to France with my school and St John’s Meads for a number of years. (more…)

Katherin Weeks


I grew up in North London and moved to Sussex with my family approximately 15 years ago. I have been a parent governor at a school in Bexhill-on-Sea and was a staff governor at my previous school. I enjoy running, reading and crafting.

Jo Barfield

Staff Governor

I am excited and privileged to take on the role of Deputy Headteacher and Year 6 teacher as the class move into the final part of their journey through the school. After teaching in London for six years, I moved back to Sussex and feel honoured to have joined the friendly (more…)

What is the role of the Local Governing Body?

The Local Governing Bodies in the Trust’s academies operate as local committees of the Body of Trustees. It is the role of the LGB to support and challenge its Headteacher's leadership to work with the Board of Trustees to hold the Headteacher accountable for the performance of staff and pupils.

We are responsible for making the key strategic decisions and our role is to set the school’s strategic framework and to ensure all statutory duties are met.

We also ensure that the school has a clear vision for its future, and that a robust strategy in place for achieving that vision.

We are also responsible for monitoring data and finance, admissions, special educational needs, performance management and school policies e.g., health and safety.

This diagram gives an overview of our roles and responsibilities as governors:

Wheel of Governance

The school governors are a dedicated group of people with a range of skills and experience represented on the Board to ensure that we are fully equipped to serve the best interests of the children. Full Governing Board meetings are held regularly through the year and sub committees meet for Admissions and Ethos.

Register of Interests 2022

Current Governors

Full Name Role Term of Office and Date of appointment Pecuniary Interest Attendance at GB Meetings 2020-21
Karen Fletcher-Wright Local Governor

Vice-Chair of Governors

01/02/2020 – 31/01/2024 None 5/6
Katherin Weeks Headteacher


Ex Officio None 6/6
Gaynor Newnham Clerk to Governors


Ex Officio Clerk to governors at the following schools: Stone Cross, Langney, Shinewater, Parklands Federation, Bourne, Hellingly, Peacehaven Heights, Telscombe Cliffs, Peacehaven Community School, The Eastbourne Academy, Downs Infants, Seaford Head, Hamilton Lodge 6/6
Clement Anthony Jackson Local Governor


01/02/2020 – 31/01/2024 Retired

Trustee of Eastbourne Christian Resource Centre

Benjamin Luke Sleep Local Governor 01/02/2020 – 31/01/2024 Curate, St John’s Church, Eastbourne


Peter Henry Stone Local Governor 01/02/2020 – 31/01/2024 None 5/6
Joan Wilson


Local Governor 01/12/2021-30/11/2025 None N/A
Jo Barfield Local Governor, Staff 20/01/2022- 19/04/2026 Staff Member N/A
Daniel Huff Local Governor, Parent 07/12/2020 – 06/12/2024 Chair of Eastbourne Fisherman’s Mission; Parent 5/5
Susanne Beesley Local Governor, Parent 01/12/2020 – 31/11/2024 Chair of East Sussex Foster Care Association, and registered social worker; Parent 4/5

Former Governors (shown for the previous academic year)

Full Name Role Term of Office and Date of appointment Pecuniary Interest Attendance at GB Meetings 2020-21
Janice Meyer Local Governor

Chair of Governors

01/01/2021 – 31/12/2021 Independent education consultant, working for DCAT, Impetus Education and South Downs Educational Consultancy.

Co-chair of governors at Polegate Primary School and a governor at Pioneer Federation. Member of the CEG at St Columba Primary School (DCAT school)


David Carter Local Governor, Parent 01/02/2020 – 11/02/2022 Employed by Hastings Direct Insurance, Parent 3
Linda Caroe Local Governor


01/02/2020 – 31/08/2021 None 5
Emily Teager Local Governor, Staff 01/12/2020 – 31/08/2021 Member of staff